Wednesday, May 19, 2021

Members of the Beta Beta Theta Chapter of the Beta Phi Mu Honor Society gathered on May 13th at S.T. Morrison Park to celebrate the achievements of SLIS students. Scholarships were awarded to continuing students Trevor Krug, Kinza Brue, and Rachel Miller-Haughton, recognizing their ongoing academic achievement in the LIS program. Graduating students Lauren Claeys (2020 Scholarship winner), Breanna Himschoot (2020 Scholarship winner), Hang Nguyen, and Douglas Nye were inducted as new members in the honor society. New members from the graduating class of 2020 were also recognized, including Damien Ihrig and Alecs Micknunas. Beta Phi Mu is the International Honor Society for Library and Information Science. Students from ALA Accredited programs are nominated each year based on their scholarly contributions to librarianship, information studies, and library education, as well as their professional promise in the LIS fields. Professor Lindsay Mattock is the academic advisor for the local Beta Beta Theta Chapter.


The attached photos are courtesy chapter secretary Heidi Lauritzen.