Message from our director

Lindsay Mattock welcomes you to the program.

Books in bookshelves

Information about our field

What is Library and Information Science?

campus scene of a light sculpture

What do we stand for?

Mission, Vision, and Values

News and Events

Kelli Brommel headshot

SLIS Student Spotlight: Kelli Brommel

Friday, November 12, 2021
Kell Brommel is a second year SLIS student. In addition to her studies, she is also the president of LISSO, the University of Iowa's student chapter of the American Library Association and a published poet. 
Diane Ray and Eric Ensley outside UI Special Collections

SLIS Student Co-Curates Exhibit

Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Visitors to the UI Special Collections & Archives reading room can view a new exhibit, Art to Eat By: Cookbooks as Record and Expression. The exhibit features items from UI Special Collections with a focus on food. Many of the items on display come from the Szathmary Culinary collection, donated by Chef Louis Szathmary. The exhibit was co-curated by SLIS student Diane Ray and curator Eric Ensley. Diane is in her third year of the  Book Studies and Library and Information Science Studies program (BLIS).
Anna Holland in front of shelves containing archival boxes

SLIS Alumni Profile: Anna Holland

Thursday, September 9, 2021
SLIS alum Anna Holland didn’t have to go far to find a satisfying library career. As a processing archivist for the Iowa Women’s Archives, she spends her workdays down the hall from SLIS classrooms and offices. Her current position follows a three-year graduate assistantship at IWA, which she held while in the joint MA and book arts certificate program provided by SLIS and the UI Center for the...

Beta Beta Theta Chapter of the Beta Phi Mu Honor Society Recognizes Student Excellence

Wednesday, May 19, 2021
Members of the Beta Beta Theta Chapter of the Beta Phi Mu Honor Society gathered on May 13th at S.T. Morrison Park to celebrate the achievements of SLIS students. Scholarships were awarded to continuing students Trevor Krug, Kinza Brue, and Rachel Miller-Haughton, recognizing their ongoing academic achievement in the LIS program. Graduating students Lauren Claeys (2020 Scholarship winner), Breanna...