SLIS Scholarships

To be considered for various SLIS departmental scholarships you must have at least a 3.00 undergraduate grade-point average and be enrolled or accepted for initial enrollment. These scholarships will be awarded on the basis of either need or merit.

Joyce Hartford/Grace Wormer Scholarship (available to incoming students)

The Joyce Hartford/Grace Wormer Scholarship is awarded annually to a deserving incoming student with plans to become a library and information professional. Financial need will be considered.

H. W. Wilson Scholarship (available to incoming students)

Since 1957, the H. W. Wilson Foundation has provided support to students in both U.S. and Canadian library and information science schools accredited by the American Library Association. This scholarship is awarded annually to an incoming MLIS student demonstrating prior educational achievement as well as professional potential. Financial need will also be considered.

Dr. John Martin Scholarship

The Dr. Martin Scholarship was established to further the education of a deserving student interested in the health sciences information network. It is available to incoming and returning students. To be eligible, a student must be enrolled for 9 hours of graduate credit during the relevant academic year.

The criteria for selection are:

  1. A demonstrated interest in a career in medical or science information services
  2. Academic excellence
  3. Professional promise
  4. Financial need.